Swedish etiquette. Rules of etiquette
for the perfect dream vacation in Sweden.

Swedes call each other by their first names and are on first-name terms. With the exception of the royal family, people are always on a first-name basis, regardless of whether they are neighbors or ministers. Swedes say "Hej" as a greeting and "Hej då" as a farewell. When you first meet someone, you shake hands as a personal greeting, otherwise shaking hands is not the rule. When they get to know each other better, Swedes hug each other when greeting and saying goodbye.

Drinking alcohol in public is generally prohibited in Sweden. However, there are exceptions and public places that allow drinking alcohol, e.g. at picnics in the park. The ban on alcohol is determined by the respective municipality. Drinking alcohol is also prohibited on public transport.

Apart from bars and restaurants, alcohol can only be bought in licensed stores (Systembolaget). Supermarkets sell alcoholic drinks with a maximum alcohol content of 3.5% from the age of 18. The age limit at Systembolaget is 20 years. Attention! Holidaymakers in Sweden, Systembolaget is closed on Sundays and public holidays and is only open until 3 p.m. on Saturdays.

Swedes seek eye contact when clinking glasses and toasting. After drinking and before putting the glass down, eye contact is sought again. Otherwise, eye contact tends to be avoided. This is because Swedes find it uncomfortable to be looked at or stared at. In fact, they only ever look the other person in the eye.

Correct pronunciation: Do not pronounce Köttbullar with a "K". The Swede says "Schöttbullar " to his meatballs.

Have you been invited to Sweden? Take your shoes off in the entrance area before you enter the apartment and place them with the many other pairs that are already neatly lined up on the floor.

The famous Smørrebrød comes from Denmark and Oslo is the capital of Norway.
There are undoubtedly similarities with Danes, Norwegians and Finns, but Swedes are reluctant to be put under the same woolly hat as their neighbors.

Small talk involves talking about non-conflicting topics. You only talk about enjoyable things that also allow positive reactions. The only thing people are allowed to complain about is the weather.

Tipping is not compulsory in Sweden. However, you are welcome to reward friendly service. In restaurants, 5% to 10% is appropriate.

Almost all offices, institutions and stores work with number systems. This means that you draw a number and wait until the number you have drawn is called out. In queues at bus stops or at the airport, Swedes stand neatly in a row. Pushing is frowned upon.

The Swedes have an egalitarian understanding of society and don't like it when people play to the fore or think they are better than others. The inclusion of the German word "Besserwisser" (know-it-all) in the Swedish language shows how Germans are sometimes seen. Speaking in a loud voice is also considered "typically German". A reserved demeanor helps to make Swedish friends.

Search

June 2024

  • M
  • D
  • M
  • D
  • F
  • S
  • S
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • 24
  • 25
  • 26
  • 27
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30

July 2024

  • M
  • D
  • M
  • D
  • F
  • S
  • S
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • 24
  • 25
  • 26
  • 27
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
0 Adults
0 Children
Pets
Size
Price
Equipment
Equipment

Compare entries

Compare

Der Schweden-Knigge. Benimmregeln
für den perfekten Traumurlaub in Schweden.

Die Schweden reden sich mit dem Vornamen an und duzen einander. Mit Ausnahme der Königsfamilie ist man, egal ob Nachbar oder Minister, immer per Du. »Hej« sagt der Schwede zur Begrüßung und »Hej då« zum Abschied. Bei der ersten Begegnung gibt man sich zur persönlichen Begrüßung die Hand, ansonsten ist Händeschütteln nicht die Regel. Bei besserer Bekanntschaft umarmen sich die Schweden zur Begrüßung und beim Abschied.

Das Trinken von Alkohol in der Öffentlichkeit ist in Schweden meist verboten. Es gibt aber auch Ausnahmen und öffentliche Plätze, die das Trinken von Alkohol z.B. beim Picknick im Park erlauben. Das Alkoholverbot bestimmt die jeweilige Kommune. Im öffentlichen Nahverkehr ist Alkohol trinken ebenfalls untersagt.

Alkohol gibt es abgesehen von Bars und Restaurants nur in lizenzierten Läden (Systembolaget) zu kaufen. Supermärkte verkaufen alkoholische Getränke mit maximal 3,5 % Alkoholgehalt ab 18 Jahren. Die Altersgrenze bei Systembolaget liegt bei 20 Jahren. Achtung! Schwedenurlauber, an Sonn- und Feiertagen ist Systembolaget geschlossen und samstags nur bis 15 Uhr geöffnet.

Beim Anstoßen und Zuprosten suchen die Schweden Augenkontakt. Nach dem Trinken und vor dem Absetzen des Glases wird abermals Blickkontakt gesucht. Ansonsten wird Augenkontakt eher vermieden. Denn den Schweden ist es unangenehm, angeschaut oder angestarrt zu werden. Eigentlich wird immer nur dem Gesprächspartner in die Augen gesehen.

Richtige Aussprache: Köttbullar nicht mit “K” aussprechen. „Schöttbullar“ sagt der Schwede zu seinen Fleischbällchen.

Du bist bei Schweden zu Hause eingeladen? Zieh die Schuhe im Eingangsbereich aus, bevor du die Wohnung betrittst und stelle sie zu den vielen anderen Paaren, die dort schon ordentlich aufgereiht auf dem Boden stehen.

Das berühmte Smørrebrød kommt aus Dänemark und Oslo ist die Hauptstadt Norwegens.
Zweifelsohne gibt es Gemeinsamkeiten mit Dänen, Norwegern und Finnen, dennoch möchten die Schweden mit ihren Nachbarn nur ungern unter dieselbe Wollmütze gesteckt werden.

Beim Small Talk wird über konfliktfreie Themen gesprochen. Man spricht eigentlich nur über vergnügliche Dinge, die auch positive Reaktionen erlauben. Allein über das Wetter darf geklagt werden.

Trinkgeld ist in Schweden keine Pflicht. Freundlichen Service darf man aber gerne belohnen. Im Restaurant sind 5% bis 10% angemessen.

Nahezu alle Ämter, Einrichtungen und Geschäfte arbeiten mit Nummernsystemen. D.h. man zieht eine Nummer und wartet bis die gezogene Ziffer aufgerufen wird. In Warteschlangen an Bushaltestellen oder am Flughafen stehen die Schweden schön hintereinander in einer Reihe. Drängeln ist verpönt.

Die Schweden haben ein egalitäres Gesellschaftsverständnis und mögen es nicht, wenn man sich in den Vordergrund spielt oder für etwas Besseres hält. Die Aufnahme des deutschen Wortes „Besserwisser“ in den schwedischen Sprachgebrauch zeigt, wie man als Deutscher mitunter gesehen wird. Ebenfalls als „typisch deutsch“ gilt das Sprechen mit lauter Stimme. Zurückhaltendes Auftreten hilft beim Finden schwedischer Freunde.

Search

August 2022

  • M
  • D
  • M
  • D
  • F
  • S
  • S
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • 24
  • 25
  • 26
  • 27
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31

September 2022

  • M
  • D
  • M
  • D
  • F
  • S
  • S
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • 24
  • 25
  • 26
  • 27
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
0 Erwachsene
0 Kinder
Pets
Größe
Preis
Ausstattungen
Ausstattung

Eintragungen vergleichen

Vergleichen